City Council meetings are held once per month, typically on the third Monday of each month at 6:30 pm. Meetings are held in City Council Chambers, 126 7th Avenue East.  

Agenda and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.   

Emergency, After-Hours or Weekend Contact:

Dundy County Sherriff - (308) 423-2393


JoAnne Decker - Council President
Nicholas Baney
Barbara Pinkteron
Deborah Stamm


Dr. Robert Rhoades- (308) 423-2540

City Superintendent
James Summers - (308) 423-2540

City Attorney

Jon S. Schroeder -  (308) 367-4141

City Office

City Clerk: Diane Rosenfelt - (308) 423-2540
Deputy City Clerk: Lynette Behlke

126 7th Avenue East,

PO Box 347

Benkelman, NE 69021

The City Council is the governing body of the City of Benkelman. It consists of five members elected at large: two members from West Ward and two members from the East Ward.; and the mayor at large is elected by vote of the residents of Benkelman at the general election.

  1. How can I contact a City Council member?

  2. Where can I find an ordinance or Municipal Code?

  3. How do I get an item on the City Council Agenda?